Celebrations and delusions?

I had in my mind a post about how the past year has been, following The Baby’s first birthday celebration. We had been cruising for quite a bit, so the post was all about how wonderful and fluffy parenthood has been.

Over the weekend, however, after several close shaves with the dreaded mastitis, it finally hit me. I was down with fever and chills and lumpy boobs. Of course it had to happen while Hubs was away on army duty. So physically I was down, and emotionally — I’ve got to admit, I don’t know which was worse — I was embarrassed. Mastitis at 12 months?! Wasn’t this the sort of thing that happened early on? Shouldn’t I be immune to this after all I’ve been through?

Ah, life.

Thankfully, after lots of hot showers, rubs, cold cabbage leaves, and then resorting to lecithin treatment, I am finally feeling much better and hopeful that I will not have to go under the knife.

Instead of trying to recreate the post I would have written pre-mastitis, I shall leave you with this funny and contemplative piece. I liked it so much that I read it twice despite it being so freaking long. It is also a masterful example of online media use, and one of the few that I’ve read that cannot be wholly translated to print.

The birth of my child was arguably the worst day of my life, but it provided a wonder beyond anything I could have imagined. I believe that my life would have been infinitely poorer without my infuriating, nerve-wracking, magical, smart, loving and funny daughter. Whether that is empirically true or purely delusion is totally irrelevant.

– “Didn’t we almost have it all?” by Colin Yeo

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

